تقدم النظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي الصادرة عن الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة أول تقييم عالمي شامل لآفاق صون التراث العالمي الطبيعي. وقد طور الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة (IUCN) هذا النظام مع المفوضية العالمية للمناطق المحمية التابعة للاتحاد (IUCN WCPA).

 

تُقيِّم النظرة الاستشرافية كلَ موقع تراث عالمي طبيعي كل ثلاث سنوات من خلال تحديثات تقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية للصون، المتوفرة إلكترونياً على هذا الموقع. كما تُحلَّل نتائج التقييمات وتقدم في تقرير يصدر في نفس الوقت مع تحديثات التقييمات.

 

>> إعرف المزيد عن النظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي الصادرة عن الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة

تهدف النظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي الصادرة عن الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة تَتَبُّع حالة كافة مواقع التراث العالمي الطبيعي وتَبَيُّن التميز في صونها وتحديد الأعمال اللازمة لحماية هذه المواقع الاستثنائية.

طور الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة النظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي للتمكين من رصد كافة مواقع التراث العالمي الطبيعي بأسلوب نظامي على مدى السنين ولترويج أعمال الصون للمساعدة في تحسين النظرة الاستشرافية لهذه المواقع. فقبل إطلاق النظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي كانت فقط المواقع المتأثرة بقضايا صون خطيرة هي ما يقيم بانتظام من قبل الاتحاد مع مركز التراث العالمي مما يعني نحو نصف مجموع المواقع الطبيعية. وبتقييم كافة المواقع الطبيعية كل ثلاث سنين يمكن إبراز المعايير المتقدمة في صون التراث العالمي وتحديد المواقع المحتاجة لأعمال صون.

تختلف النظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي الصادرة عن الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة عن العمل الذي يقوم به الاتحاد كهيئة استشارية في اتفاقية التراث العالمي، مع أنها مُكَمِّلة لهذا العمل.  فالنظرة الاستشرافية أداة معرفية مستقلة أنتجها الاتحاد تهدف للدعم المباشر لمواقع التراث العالمي وأعضاء الاتحاد من حكومات ومنظمات أهلية والأخصائيين في الاتحاد وشركائه.

ليست النظرة الاستشرافية بديلاً لأي من نظم الرصد ضمن اتفاقية التراث العالمي لكنها تساعد في تحسين عمل الاتحاد في مجال دعم تلك النظم. فهي مُكَمِّلة لنظام الرصد الاستجابيّ التابع للاتفاقية -والمطبق فقط على المواقع التي تَبَيَّن وجود مشكلات فيها- من خلال توفير تقييمات لكل المواقع وبالتالي أيضاً تحديد المواقع حسنة الإدارة وجهود صونها.

 

يقوم الاتحاد بإعلام اليونسكو بأية معلومة جديدة تظهر من خلال النظرة الاستشرافية وينبغي إبلاغها للجنة التراث العالمي. لذلك فإن النظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي تمكن الاتحاد من أن يكون أكثر مبادرة ونظامية وشفافية في مشورته للدول الأعضاء ولجنة التراث العالمي التابعة لليونسكو.

 

>> إعرف المزيد عن دور الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة كهيئة استشارية

 

استندت منهجية الجولة الأولى من تقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية في سنة 2014 إلى عدد من منهجيات تقييم المناطق المحمية القائمة والتي تعكس منهجيات أفضل الممارسات التي يتبعها الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة في المناطق المحمية والمكيفة لتناسب مواقع التراث العالمي. وتقوم على المنهجيات والدروس المستفادة من عدة مصادر، مثل تقرير النظرة الاستشرافية للحَيد المرجاني العظيم، حُزمة أدوات تعزيز تراثنا، دليل إدارة التراث الطبيعي العالمي، واستبيان التقارير الدورية للتراث العالمي (الدورتين الثانية والثالثة).

 

وقد وضع الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة هذه المنهجية المعيارية سنة 2011 بواسطة فريق استشاري فني بقيادة الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة ويضم أخصائيين من الاتحاد وأعضاء في المفوضية العالمية للمناطق المحمية وموظفي المركز العالمي لرصد صون الطبيعة التابع لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة ومديري مواقع التراث العالمي المعنية. وفي وقت الحق من تلك السنة، طُوِّر تقييمٌ استرشادي للدول العربية لاختبار صلاحيته، وفي سنة 2014 تم إطلاق دورة التقييم الأولى لكافة المواقع، وتلاها تحديث في سنة 2017.

 

قبل كل دورة تقييم جديدة، تخضع المنهجية لمزيد من التنقيح من قبل الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة بناء على التغذية الراجعة المتحصلة خلال دورات التقييم السابقة. ويهدف هذا النهج التكيفي للمنهجية إلى التمكين من تحسين منهجية النظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي الصادرة عن الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة على مر الزمن، ولكن بطريقة تكفل اتساق التقييمات ولها قابلية للمقارنة بين الدورات.

 

>> إعرف المزيد عن المنهجية

 

تُقيِّم النظرة الاستشرافية كافة مواقع التراث العالمي المدرجة على قائمة التراث العالمي وفق المعايير الطبيعية. أما في حالات المواقع المختلطة (الطبيعية والثقافية) فإن ما يؤخذ بالاعتبار لغايات تقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية للصون هو فقط القيم الطبيعية.

تمثل تقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية توقعاً لاحتمالية محافظة موقع التراث العالمي الطبيعي على قيمه بمرور الوقت استناداً إلى تقييم مكتبي لثلاثة عناصر:

 

  1. الحالة الراهنة لقيم التراث العالمي الطبيعي واتجاهاتها
  2. التهديدات المؤثرة في هذه القيم
  3. فعالية الحماية والإدارة

 

يتم تجميع التقييمات من قبل خبراء الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة بمن فيهم أعضاء من المفوضية العالمية للمناطق المحمية ثم تخضع لعملية دقيقة من مراجعة النُظراء. ويُستفاد في ذلك من المعلومات المنشورة والمعارف المقدمة من أعضاء وشركاء الاتحاد ومديري المواقع والمجتمعات. كما تشمل تقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية للصون معلومات إضافية عن المشروعات الجارية في المواقع وعن خدمات وفوائد النظام الإيكولوجي التي توفرها المواقع للناس.

تتمثل أولى خطوات إعداد النظرة الاستشرافية للصون في تجميع المعلومات الموجودة عن كل موقع تراث عالمي طبيعي. ويتم حشد هذه البيانات من خلال برنامج التراث العالمي في الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة والمفوضية العالمية للمناطق المحمية وشبكة المنظمات الأعضاء في الاتحاد والمفوضيات المختصة فيه (مثل مفوضية بقاء الأنواع التابعة للاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة) وبالتشاور مع ذوي المعرفة مثل المعنيين المحليين ومديري المواقع حيثما أمكن.

 

تُجمَّع هذه المعلومات وتُقيَّم من قبل خبراء وفق منهجية معيارية لضمان الاتساق. ثم تُراجَع هذه التقييمات داخليا للتحقق من استيفائها المعايير المطلوبة. ثم يتحصل على مراجعات من مراجعون خارجيون. ويعقبه مراجعة من المناطق التنفيذية للاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة. حيثما أمكن، يتم دعوة مديرو المواقع للتأكد من الحقائق وتحديث المعلومات ولتقديم ملاحظاتهم، التي تؤخذ بعين الاعتبار للنسخة النهائية من التقييم.. وتُمنح الموافقة النهائية على تقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية للصون من فريق التراث العالمي في الاتحاد ثم تنشر.

 

>> إعرف المزيد عن عملية التشاور

 

تقوم تقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية للصون على أساس مكتبي وتتم من قبل خبراء بناء على أفضل المعلومات المتوفرة وباتباع منهجية معيارية.

 

وقبل إتمام أي تقييم للنظرة الاستشرافية للصون وإقراره من قبل فريق التراث العالمي في الاتحاد ونشره على الإنترنت، فإنه يمر بعملية مراجعة دقيقة. ويمكن إدماج التصويبات الوقائعية في التقييمات في أي وقت. فإن كنت تريد تقديم تصويب وقائعي، نرجو أن تتواصل معنا عبر النموذج الإلكتروني للتغذية الراجعة.  

تُستشار مجموعة متنوعة من المعنيين خلال كل تحديث لتقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية للصون. ومِمَّن يُستشار: الدول الأعضاء، سلطات الإدارة، مديرو المواقع، الباحثون، المجموعات المجتمعية، أعضاء المفوضية العالمية للمناطق المحمية، أعضاء المفوضيات الأخرى في الاتحاد، الوكالات التنموية. يتم بعناية مراجعة كافة المعلومات المستلمة في عملية التشاور من قبل خبراء مستقلين من أجل إنتاج كلٍ من تقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية للصون. وتكون النظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي الصادرة عن الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة مفتوحة للجميع لتقديم ملاحظاتهم من أجل تحسين أو تحديث التقييمات بمعلومات جديدة.

 

>> إعرف المزيد عن عملية التشاور

 

لا غنى عن التشاور في إعداد النظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي الصادرة عن الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة، والنظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي الصادرة عن الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة ترحب بمشاركات السلطات الحكومية ومديري المواقع. وعندما يكون للاتحاد جهات اتصال موجودة بالأصل يُدعى مديرو المواقع  والسلطات الحكومية للمساهمة بمعلوماتهم لإدماجها في تقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية للصون، بالإضافة إلى التأكد من الحقائق، وتوفير التحديثات والتعليقات على مسودة التقييمات النهائية قبل وضع صيغتها النهائية ونشرها على الإنترنت. بينما نوجه الدعوة للمديرين الذين ليسوا على اتصال حالياً للتواصل معنا على worldheritageoutlook [at] iucn [dot] org ().

 

ويمكن لمديري المواقع الانخراط بتعبئة نموذج التشاور وأيضاً بتزويد الاتحاد بأية معلومات إضافية عن المواقع. ومما يشمله ذلك الوثائق الداعمة مثل خطط إدارة جديدة ونشرات إخبارية وتقييمات فعالية الإدارة وتقارير الرصد. وحيثما أمكن يُدعى مديرو المواقع للتعليق على مسودة تقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية للصون. وبما أننا نعمل على مزيد من التحسين للنظرة الاستشرافية فإننا نسعى -حيثما أمكن- لترجمة التقييمات إلى اللغات المحلية للمساعدة في التشاور وإبداء الملاحظات محلياً.

>> نَزِّل تقرير التشاور

 

 

ثمة تقدير عام لكل تقييم للنظرة الاستشرافية للصون.  ويكون التقدير إحدى الفئات الخمس التالية:

 

أ‌.    جيدة

قيم الموقع بحالة جيدة ويُتوقع المحافظة عليها في المستقبل المنظور بشرط الإبقاء على التدابير الحالية للصون.

 

ب‌.    مقلقة قليلاً

بالرغم من وجود بعض دواعي القلق إلا أنه باتِّخاذ تدابير صون إضافية صغيرة يُتوقع استدامة قيم الموقع بشكل جوهري على المدى الطويل.

 

ج. مقلقة للغاية

قيم الموقع مهددة و/أو قد تُبدي علامات التدهور. ثمة ضرورة لاتِّخاذ تدابير صون إضافية كبيرة للمحافظة على القيم و/أو استعادتها على المدى المتوسط إلى الطويل.

 

د. حرِجة

قيم الموقع مهددة و/أو متدهورة بشدة. ثمة حاجة لاتِّخاذ تدابير صون إضافية فورية واسعة النطاق للمحافظة على قيم الموقع و/أو استعادتها على المدى القصير إلى المتوسط تجنباً لفقدانها.

 

ه. نقص في البيانات

الأدلة المتوفرة غير كافية لاستخلاص نتائج.

 

>> المزيد عن تقديرات التقييم

 

تُحدَّث تقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية للصون كل ثلاث سنين. وقد تم إطلاق ثاني تحديث للنظرة الاستشرافية العالمية للصون أواخر سنة 2020 وقُدَّم على هذا الموقع وفي التقرير الثالث للنظرة الاستشرافية العالمية للصون. وقد مكن تحديث سنة 2020 من معرفةَ اتجاهات النظرة الاستشرافية لصون المواقع على مدى فترة زمنية مدتها ست سنوات.

مما تُجَمِّعه أيضاً تقييماتُ النظرة الاستشرافية للصون معلومات عن خدمات وفوائد النظام الإيكولوجي التي توفرها مواقع التراث العالمي الطبيعي. ويمكن الاطلاع على هذه الفوائد من خلال الخريطة التفاعلية المدعَّمة بمجموعة من الحالات الدراسية. بإمكانك أيضاً تنزيل تقرير "فوائد التراث العالمي الطبيعي".

يتمثل أهم أهداف النظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي الصادرة عن الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة في الترويج للنهج المُبادِر في أعمال الصون لتحسين النظرة الاستشرافية لكافة مواقع التراث العالمي الطبيعي. ويتحقق ذلك بإقرار تدابير الصون الناجحة وتيسير محاكاتها وتحديد أكثر قضايا الصون إلحاحاً التي تواجه كل موقع والأعمال اللازمة لمعالجتها. ويمكن استخدام هذه المعلومات لتطوير مشروعات صون ميدانية وتحديد الاحتياجات من بناء القدرات وحشد الدعم لمواقع التراث العالمي.

 

في سنة 2016 أُطلِقت أول مجموعة من شراكات النظرة الاستشرافية بمشاركة منظمات صون تعمل للاستفادة من المعرفة التي توفرها النظرة الاستشرافية وترجمتها إلى أعمال على أرض الواقع في المواقع ذات الأهمية للصون. ويهدف الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة من خلال إقامة شراكات مع الشركاء في النظرة الاستشرافية كل منها مَعني بموقع معين إلى زيادة فرص الصون لمواقع التراث العالمي ذات الحاجة الأشد لذلك. والغاية هي تطوير مبادرات ومشروعات بشكل تعاوني مع شركاء النظرة الاستشرافية للمساعدة في التصدي للتحديات التي تواجهها هذه المواقع وتحسين فعالية صونها.    

 

>> إعرف المزيد عن الشركاء في النظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي الصادرة عن الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة.

 

 

تُجرى التقارير الدورية كل ست سنوات من قبل الدول الأعضاء في اتفاقية التراث العالمي وهي عبارة عن تقييم ذاتي بالتشاور مع المعنيين لـ: كيفية تطبيق الدولة العضو لاتفاقية التراث العالمي، ما إذا كانت قيم مواقع التراث العالمي في الدولة العضو مُصانة مع مرور الوقت، أية تغيرات في الظروف وحالة الصون. ويجري التقييم الدوري على أساس إقليمي خلال كل دورة ومدتها ست سنوات.

 

أما النظرة الاستشرافية فهي تقييم مستقل ينتجه الاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة بالتشاور مع المعنيين ويُحدَّث كل ثلاث سنوات. وبخلاف التقارير الدورية تتعامل النظرة الاستشرافية مع كافة الأقاليم في نفس الوقت، مقدمةً تقييماً عالمياً لكافة مواقع التراث العالمي الطبيعي. وحيثما تتيح التقارير الدورية معلومات ذات صلة فإنها تُستخدم مع المصادر الأخرى في الإعداد لتقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية للصون.

بإمكانك الاطلاع على التقييمات على هذا الموقع من خلال البحث في الخريطة التفاعلية على الصفحة الرئيسية أو صفحة إكتشِف المواقع حيث تستطيع حصر النتائج باستخدام الفلاتر.

 

إذ يتيح لك البحثُ المفلتر البحثَ عن تقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية للصون حسب الموقع أو الإقليم أو معيار القيمة العالمية الاستثنائية أو التقدير أو التهديد أو الفوائد.

 

تحتوي صفحةُ كل موقع على ملخص للتقييم والنسخة التفصيلية منه. ويمكن استخدام هذه المعلومات لتَبَيُّن النجاح ومحاكاته ولفت الانتباه لاحتياجات صونه.

تتوفر المعلومات العامة في الموقع الإلكتروني للنظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي باللغات الثلاث للاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة وهي الانجليزية والفرنسية والإسبانية. بالإضافة إلى اللغة العربية بفضل الدعم السخي من المركز الإقليمي العربي للتراث العالمي (ARC-WH).

يتم إنتاج تقييمات النظرة الاستشرافية للصون إما بالإنجليزية أو الفرنسية أو الإسبانية. ولجعل النظام أكثر فائدة ننوي إنتاج نُسخ من التقييمات باللغات المحلية المَعنية حيثما أمكن ذلك.

يمكن للاتحاد الدولي لصون الطبيعة مراجعة ما يَرد من تغذية راجعة على التقييمات بالعربية والانجليزية والفرنسية والبرتغالية والروسية والاسبانية. وقد نستطيع أيضاً الاطلاع على المعلومات الواردة بلغات أخرى، لكن يرجى التواصل معنا على   worldheritageoutlook [at] iucn [dot] org () قبل تسليمها بلغة غير اللغات الست المذكورة.

لاقتراح ترجمة يرجى التواصل معنا على worldheritageoutlook [at] iucn [dot] org ().

نرحب بأي تعليقات على النظرة الاستشرافية للتراث العالمي، بما في ذلك الملاحظات حول دقة معلومات تقييم النظرة الاستشرافية للصون. بإمكانك إرسال ملاحظاتك بتعبئة نموذج التغذية الراجعة المنشور على الإنترنت أو بالبريد الإلكتروني على worldheritageoutlook [at] iucn [dot] org ().

 

>> زوِّدنا بملاحظاتك

The IUCN World Heritage Outlook provides the first comprehensive global assessment of the conservation prospects for natural World Heritage. The system has been developed by IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature) together with IUCN's World Commission on Protected Areas (IUCN WCPA).


The IUCN World Heritage Outlook assesses each natural World Heritage site every three years through Conservation Outlook Assessments. The results of all assessments are analysed and presented in a report issued at the same time as the updated assessments.

>> Learn more about the IUCN World Heritage Outlook

The purpose of the IUCN World Heritage Outlook is to track the status of all natural World Heritage sites, recognize excellence in their conservation and identify the actions needed to protect these exceptional sites.

IUCN has developed the IUCN World Heritage Outlook to enable monitoring of all natural World Heritage sites in a systematic manner through time, and promote conservation actions to help improve the outlook of these sites. Before the IUCN World Heritage Outlook, only sites affected by serious conservation issues were regularly assessed by IUCN, together with the World Heritage Centre, representing about half of all natural sites. By assessing all natural sites every three years, the high standards of World Heritage conservation can be highlighted, and sites where conservation action is needed can be identified.

The IUCN World Heritage Outlook is different from the work IUCN does as an Advisory Body under the World Heritage Convention, but complements that work. The IUCN World Heritage Outlook is an independent knowledge tool produced by IUCN that aims to support directly World Heritage sites, government and NGO members of IUCN, and IUCN specialists and partners.

The IUCN World Heritage Outlook does not replace any of the monitoring systems under the World Heritage Convention, but it helps improve IUCN's work in supporting those systems. It complements the World Heritage Convention's Reactive Monitoring system – which is applied only to sites where problems have been identified – by providing an assessment of all sites, and therefore also recognizing well-managed sites and their conservation efforts.

Any new information identified through the IUCN World Heritage Outlook, which should be brought to the attention of the World Heritage Committee, will be communicated to UNESCO by IUCN. The World Heritage Outlook thus enables IUCN to be more proactive, systematic and transparent in its advice to States Parties and the UNESCO World Heritage Committee.

>> Learn more about IUCN's Advisory Body role

The methodology for the first round of Conservation Outlook Assessments in 2014 was based on a number of existing protected area assessment methodologies, which reflect IUCN's best practice approaches to protected areas, adapted specifically to World Heritage sites. It builds on methodologies and lessons learned from a number of sources including the Great Barrier Reef Outlook Report, the WCPA/UNESCO Enhancing Our Heritage Toolkit, as well as aspects of the WWF Protected Area Benefits Assessment Tool, and Periodic Reporting.

The methodology was developed through a consultative process with an advisory group involving IUCN specialists and WCPA members, UNEP-World Conservation Monitoring Centre staff and World Heritage site managers. In 2011, a pilot was developed for the Arab States to test its validity.

Following the completion of the first round of Conservation Outlook Assessments in 2014, and valuable feedback gathered from assessors, reviewers, and others involved in the consultation process, the methodology was further refined and improved by an IUCN World Heritage Outlook methodology review group in advance of the 2017 update.

>> Learn more about the methodology

The IUCN World Heritage Outlook assesses all World Heritage sites that have been inscribed on the World Heritage List under natural criteria. In cases of mixed sites (natural and cultural), only the natural values are taken into consideration for IUCN's Conservation Outlook Assessments.

Conservation Outlook Assessments are a projection of the potential for a natural World Heritage site to conserve its values over time, based on a desk-based assessment of three elements:

1.    The current state and trend of sites' natural World Heritage values
2.    The threats affecting those values
3.    The effectiveness of protection and management.

The assessments are compiled by IUCN experts, including members of IUCN's World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA), and then undergo a rigorous peer-review process. They draw on published information and knowledge provided by IUCN members, partners, site managers and communities. Conservation Outlook Assessments also include additional information on active or potential conservation projects in the sites, and on the ecosystem services and benefits provided by the sites to people.

The first step in preparing Conservation Outlook Assessments is to gather existing information on every natural World Heritage site. This data is mobilized through IUCN's World Heritage Programme, the IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas, IUCN's network of member organizations and expert commissions (such as the Species Survival Commission), and consultation with key knowledge holders, including local stakeholders and site managers whenever possible.

This information is compiled and assessed by independent experts against a standardized methodology to ensure consistency. Assessments are then reviewed and revised by other experts and by regional review groups. Site managers are also given an opportunity to provide comments on the assessments for their sites. Conservation Outlook Assessments are given final approval by the IUCN World Heritage Panel before they are published.

>> Learn more about the consultation process

Conservation Outlook Assessments are desk-based and are undertaken by IUCN experts based on the best data available, following a standard methodology.

Each completed Conservation Outlook Assessment goes through a rigorous review process before it is given final approval by the IUCN World Heritage Panel. The system is open to all to provide comment and suggested improvements. If you consider there is either any inaccuracy in the assessments, or new information means that an assessment should be revised, please help us improve the IUCN World Heritage Outlook by providing feedback.

A wide range of stakeholders are consulted during each Conservation Outlook Assessment update, including State Parties, management authorities, site managers, researchers, community groups, IUCN WCPA members and other IUCN Commission members, non-governmental organizations and development agencies. All information provided through consultation is carefully reviewed by independent experts in order to produce each Conservation Outlook Assessment. The IUCN World Heritage Outlook is open to all to provide feedback in order to improve or update assessments with new information.

>> Learn more about the consultation process

Consultation is indispensable to the preparation of the IUCN World Heritage Outlook. The IUCN World Heritage Outlook is open to continuous input from management authorities and site managers. Where IUCN already has contacts, site managers are invited to contribute information for inclusion in the assessments. We invite site managers who are not already in touch with IUCN to contact us at worldheritageoutlook [at] iucn [dot] org.

Site managers can get involved by filling out a consultation form and also by providing any additional information on the sites to IUCN. This includes supporting documentation such as new management plans, newsletters, management effectiveness assessments and monitoring reports, for example. Whenever feasible, site managers are also invited to comment on draft Conservation Outlook Assessments. As we further improve the IUCN World Heritage Outlook, we also aim to produce local language translations of assessments, wherever possible, to assist in local consultation and feedback.

>> Download the consultation form

Each Conservation Outlook Assessment has an overall rating. There are five rating categories:

a.    "Good"

The site's values are in good condition and are likely to be maintained for the foreseeable future, provided that current conservation measures are maintained.

b.    "Good with some concerns"

While some concerns exist, with minor additional conservation measures the site's values are likely to be essentially maintained over the long-term.

c.    "Significant concern"

The site's values are threatened and/or may be showing signs of deterioration. Significant additional conservation measures are needed to maintain and/or restore values over the medium to long-term.

d.    "Critical"

The site's values are severely threatened and/or deteriorating. Immediate large-scale additional conservation measures are needed to maintain and/or restore the site's values over the short to medium-term of the values may be lost.

e.    "Data deficient"

Available evidence is insufficient to draw a conclusion.

>> More on the assessment ratings

All Conservation Outlook Assessments will be updated every three years, however, in case new important information on a particular site becomes available, that individual Conservation Outlook Assessment can be reviewed at any time. The first update of the IUCN World Heritage Outlook is due in late 2017, and will be presented online and in a 2017 World Heritage Outlook update report. The 2017 update will enable, for the first time, trends in the conservation outlook for sites to be identified.

Conservation Outlook Assessments also compile information on ecosystem services and benefits provided by natural World Heritage sites. A global overview of these benefits is available through an interactive map, which is complemented by a set of case-studies. You can also download the report "The Benefits of Natural World Heritage".

The most important goal of the IUCN World Heritage Outlook is to promote proactive conservation actions to help improve the outlook for all natural World Heritage sites.  This can be achieved by recognizing successful conservation measures and enabling their replication, and by identifying the most pressing conservation issues facing each site and the actions needed to address them. This information can be used to develop conservation projects on the ground, identify capacity building needs and advocate for more support to World Heritage sites.

In 2016 a first set of Outlook Partnerships were launched with five conservation organisations, working to take advantage of the knowledge provided by the IUCN World Heritage Outlook and translate it into action on the ground for sites of conservation concern. Through establishing site-specific partnerships with the Outlook Partners, IUCN aims to raise the conservation prospects of natural World Heritage sites that need it most. The objective is to develop initiatives and projects, collaboratively with Outlook Partners, to help address the main challenges that these sites are facing and improve the effectiveness of their conservation.

>> Find out more about partners to the IUCN World Heritage Outlook

Periodic Reporting is undertaken every six years by States Parties to the World Heritage Convention and is a self-assessment, in consultation with stakeholders, of: how the State Party applies the World Heritage Convention, whether the values of World Heritage sites within the State Party are maintained over time, and any changing circumstances and state of conservation. Periodic reporting takes place on a regional basis during each six year cycle.

The IUCN World Heritage Outlook is an independent assessment, produced by IUCN in consultation with stakeholders, and is updated every three years. Unlike Periodic Reporting, all regions are handled at the same time, providing a global assessment for all natural World Heritage sites. Where information is available through Periodic Reporting, it is used among other sources for the preparation of Conservation Outlook Assessments.

You can access the assessments by exploring the interactive map or through the site search, where you can narrow down results using filters.

The filtered search allows you to search the Conservation Outlook Assessments by site, region, criteria of Outstanding Universal Value, rating, threat, benefits, other international designations and ecosystem types, providing an overview of conservation issues for each of these search criteria.

Each site page contains a summary and a detailed version of the assessment. This information can be used to identify and replicate success, and draw attention to conservation needs.

General information on the World Heritage Outlook website is available in the three official languages of IUCN: English, French and Spanish. However, only English can currently be used to search sites or explore the map.

Conservation Outlook Assessments are produced in English, French or Spanish. Initially, translations are provided in French or Spanish for countries that are francophone or hispanophone.  To make the system even more useful, we intend to also produce local language versions of Conservation Outlook Assessments wherever feasible.

IUCN is able to review feedback on assessments submitted in Arabic, English, French, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish.  We may also be able to review information submitted in other languages, but please contact us before submitting information.

Contact us at worldheritageoutlook [at] iucn [dot] org to propose a translation

We welcome any comment on the IUCN World Heritage Outlook or on any individual assessment. You can submit your feedback by filling the online feedback form or via email to worldheritageoutlook [at] iucn [dot] org. If significant new information becomes available on a particular site, its assessment can be revised by IUCN at any time, and all assessments will be updated at least every three years.

We also encourage you to share your general suggestions on how we can improve the assessments and, most importantly, how we can connect the IUCN World Heritage Outlook to action needed to support natural World Heritage sites and achieve an improved conservation outlook.

>> Send your feedback